President Kovind Receives Credentials of Seven Envoys via Video-Conferencing

by Diplomatist Bureau - 22 May, 2020, 12:00 2618 Views 0 Comment

On 21 May 2020, Ambassadors of North Korea, Senegal, Côte d’Ivoire and High Commissioners of Trinidad and Tobago, Mauritius, Australia and Rwanda presented credentials to President Ram Nath Kovind via video-conferencing. The credential ceremony was conducted from the South Block as the envoys stood in front of a large screen one after another. This exercise was conducted as a usual credential ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhawan could not be arranged due to the spread of COVID-19.

The Ambassadors/High Commissioners who presented their credentials were: Choe Hui Chol, Ambassador of North Korea; Abdoul Wahab Haidara, Ambassador of Senegal; Roger Gopaul, High Commissioner of the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago; Santi Bai Hanoomanjee, High Commissioner of the Republic of Mauritius; Barry Robert O’Farrell, High Commissioner of Australia; Jacqueline Mukangira, High Commissioner of Rwanda.

President Kovind stated that digital technology has allowed the world to overcome the challenges posed by COVID-19 and carry out its functions in a rather inventive manner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *